1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Discuss politics - join our community by registering for free here! HOP - the political discussion forum

Any foreign language speakers?

Discussion in 'House of Politics Lounge' started by Martyr, Aug 4, 2006.

1. Martyr

Martyr Member

Trying to learn Japanese but sometimes it's hard to find time or motivation to study now that I'm outside of the classroom. :(

2. vicki2

vicki2 New Member

I spent a bit of time in Japan and really tried to learn some of the language, but I don't have a good ear for picking languages up. I studied French and German at university and can read and write well enough in those, but can't speak them at all!!!

My ear really didn't pick much up after months in Japan either.

3. palefrost

palefrost New Member

My brothers girl friend is Japanese if you need a hand on how to get started ask away and ill talk to her. She was actually looking into translation work over the net. :)

4. Brandon

Brandon New Member

I actually have an interest in learning Japanese. I plan on taking some classes soon. I just hope I dont have one of those foreign language blocks some people get.

5. Martyr

Martyr Member

¥300 cigarettes. [​IMG] Pachinko too.

I wish I could live there. That way I can see family and have plenty of incentive to keep learning.
    Thanks but I've got 5 years of high school classes under my belt. Though I only gave a **** for the last year and a half of them, I have a firm grasp on the fundamentals. My mother's a native speaker so I can ask her for help if I need it too.

6. palefrost

palefrost New Member

Well if you need any help im sure she would give you pointers or what have you..shes sweet as pie! :)

7. Jim

Jim New Member