Public v Private

A mind terrible thing to waste, but so is Money on Crappy Education!

I have a lot of friends that went to "private schools" and most are no more smarter than the average "lug nut". I would say as a parent go into the schools in your district and conduct your employee interviews, as these teachers and administrators work for you whether they are in the private or public sector. I am a public educated student and wouldn't have it any other way, but that's not to say private schools can't sometimes offer more.

Werbung:
It does no good for tax payers to demand a change if they do not know what the problem is and blame the teachers by default. The above posts are from teachers...it should give a hint as to what is wrong.

Agreed; the teachers do take the heat by default which is a simplified way that school Administrators use for the 'parents' to focus their ire and blame when in reality it is the educational policies of the various State and local school boards that permit and to a large degree promote a permissive attitude toward student education and behavior.
To a large number of Administrators in American education a classroom teacher is an expendable employee but the student, because of State and Federal attendance and 'special program' monies, is not. So the 'money' talks and because of that most in-school policies, both disciplinary and educational, are modeled to be student friendly and not educationally challenging or competent.

parents unaware

Agreed; the teachers do take the heat by default which is a simplified way that school Administrators use for the 'parents' to focus their ire and blame when in reality it is the educational policies of the various State and local school boards that permit and to a large degree promote a permissive attitude toward student education and behavior.