Rules of the Trade: Understanding the Bigger Picture

Soultrader

Affiliate
It is estimated that 90-95% of all futures traders lose money in the markets. Most traders deplete their trading account within the first 6 months. Out of all who survive past the first 6 months, 50% of them will never make it beyond 12 months. Why are these stats so low? And why am I not surpised?

Let me explain: Most market participants enter the market without much knowledge of how the markets function. It is common to see successful lawyers, doctors, and businessmen enter the market just to lose their entire trading captial. As a trader I am in the business of risk. Without this in mind you are doomed to fail. Trading and investing are not primarily about picking hot stocks, using the greatest technical indicator, or following a trading system. The only holy grail to trading is strict self-discipline and money management.

Top reasons why traders fail:

1. Lack of market understanding
2. Being undercapitalized
3. Too much leverage
4. Not understanding trading mechanics: tools of the trade
5. Not having an edge
6. Lack of self-understanding: unaware of your own pyschological components
7. Lack of passion