Scientists see this swine flu strain as relatively mild

Little-Acorn

I'm not a doctor, and don't know much about these various diseases etc. But as I've pointed out before, I've heard no specific reasons why this swine-flu outbreak is any worse than the "ordinary" flu bugs that pop up every year. People die from flu every year, and a few people have died from this swine flu this year. And this season isn't over, more people can and probably will die from swine flu.

But are the deaths from this swine flu strain, more numerous than deaths from the flu strain(s) we had last year? Or the year before?

Or, what percentage of people who get "ordinary" flu, die from it? And what percentage of people who get this swine flu, die from that?

I've seen no reports that even ask this question, much less try to answer it. But maybe I haven't looked in the right place. If you've seen such a report or article, can you please post a link to it?

All I've seen, are people running around like chickens with their heads off, screaming in fear over a "swine flu" that, so far, is no more harmful than every other flu we've gotten over the years. But not giving us any reasons WHY.

Why all the hooraw over this year's flu, where there wasn't nearly so much panic last year? Or the year before?

------------------------------------

http://www.latimes.com/features/health/la-sci-swine-reality30-2009apr30,0,3606923.story

Scientists see this flu strain as relatively mild

Genetic data indicate this outbreak won't be as deadly as that of 1918, or even the average winter.

by Karen Kaplan and Alan Zarembo
April 30, 2009