Education...

Werbung:
Not only that, Latin has helped me immensely on various English exams and the like. But--there is one subject I have never applied to my daily life, and that is Algebra. I cannot recall a single time I've ever used Algebra, yet I've taken 3 years of it.

I use algebra when I write simple programming scripts to manage this site. I am no programming wizard but algebra is useful.

I use vectors and physics (which requires algebra) so I don't kill myself trying out a new wall-jumping route while free running. Since I'm not a pro, knowing the numbers does help me make the decision as when at the limits of my capacity with no time or room for error, I'd sure like to know that in theory I could make the jump. The one time I did a jump on the spur of the moment, I fractured my heel.

What about Civic duties? We as Americans live in one of the greatest countries--why not teach all of our citizens how to vote, pay taxes, and abide by the law?

And scarrier words have rarely been uttered.

Teach citizens how to vote? I'm sorry, but, it's not exactly difficult. Go to the little room, punch the right button or check the right box and leave. People KNOW how to vote. People don't because they are too apathetic to bother.

I do not want the state to teach my children what it means to be a citizen of the state. In that direction, you find all sorts of fun stuff like Orwell and the Khmer Rouge. Becoming a citizen of a nation is not something you learn in Civics class. It's something that you learn each and every day as you are immersed in the culture and language of that nation.

As far as what you are learning in high school being useless, I agree wholeheartedly. It's actually not all that much different post secondary school either. You'll forget about 80% of the stuff you learned in Uni because you'll never use it in your job.